Browse the documents Browse the documents Search
Advanced search
The Flinders papersletters and documents about the explorer Matthew Flinders (1774-1814)
You are here: Flinders > Browse the Documents > Documents > Documents
All pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Back to Index

Letter from Matthew Flinders to Ann Flinders (22 of 41) (FLI25) Page 3

of my cousin Henrietta. She poƒseƒses ^ an excellent head, and a better heart: I think,
that after thee and my brother Samuel, she stands next in my affection. When
my sister Hannah leaves school, thou wilt afford me much gratification in
having her occasionally with thee: make her thy young friend, she will be grate-
-ful for the attention: Read with her, reason with her upon what you read and
upon the occurrences of life, – be her confidant; to do which, thou must not so
much attempt to make her rise to thy ideas and sentiments, but must rather des-
-cend to hers: adopt her amusements, take up her manner of thinking, and lead
her on imperceptibly to the formation of just sentiments and the adoption of a-
-greeable manners: teach her not to be too confident in the good disposition of
mankind, but to avoid shewing suspicion, not to give too much way to the sen-
-sibilities of the heart, but to avoid misanthropy; in [illegible], to live in charity
with all men, and think well of every individual until his actions shall shew
    him to be undeserving of it. It is permitted to men, and
    it is sometimes their duty, to brave the opinion of the
world; but a female, if she would avoid misery, must always submit to it.
Next after considering the laws of her God, she ought perhaps in the next place
to reflect, before giving way to the impulse of her feelings, what will be the opinion
of the world upon this action. If the world will condemn, or draw from thence
consequence injurious to her character, the design ought to be abandoned:
Perhaps this rule ought to extend to all the transactions of Life.
      I hope thou wilt have made the acquisition of a little French; my cou-
-sin will aƒsist thee, and on my return we will make further progreƒs: at
present I am able to converse upon most subjects, and they tell me, speak paƒsa-
-bly well; indeed I ought, for these last eight or ten months I have spoken
scarcely any thing else; and as my afternoons and evenings are paƒsed with
^ my good and well-informed hosteƒs, and her three amiable daughters, my tongue is
not suffered to lie still; but I must leave a little space for the last day before
this letter will depart.
      July 12. I have lately received a letter from Major Henry of the 19th dragoons
at Arcot, near Madras. He is It does not appear whether or no he received my letter
recommending James Franklin to his notice. I have written again to him, and in
more forcible terms; and if James should be so lucky as to be at the same station,
I am sure Major Henry will befriend and advise him for my sake.
      Should Mr Robertson be yet in England, pray write to him and say how
much I am obliged for his friendly attention in writing to me and sending thy letters.
It is a service I shall never forget, and increases the desire I had to be useful to that
worthy and intelligent man. Is Mr Aken arrived with my books and charts? Of
this I am ignorant, and would give much to be satisfied.

All pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Back to Index
View Print Friendly Version

Related people
Chappelle (Flinders), Ann
De Caen, Charles Mathieu Isadore
King, Philip Gidley King
Banks, Sir Joseph
Pellew, (Admiral) Edward, Viscount Exmouth
Fleurieu, Charles Pierre Claret, Comte de
Bonaparte (Buonaparte), Napoléon.
Flinders, Henrietta
Flinders, Samuel
Flinders family
Franklin family
Aken (Aiken), John
Franklin, Thomas
Larkins, Thomas
Flinders, Matthew
Riviere, Viscount de

Ile de France (Mauritius)
Port Jackson

Warren Hastings
Piedmontaise (Piémontaise)

Words and phrases

Related Documents
Other documents written by Flinders, Matthew

Other documents received by Chappelle (Flinders), Ann

Other documents written in 1806