Browse the documents Browse the documents Search
Advanced search
The Flinders papersletters and documents about the explorer Matthew Flinders (1774-1814)
You are here: Flinders > Browse the Documents > Documents > Documents
All pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | Back to Index

Letter from Matthew Flinders to Ann Flinders (37 of 41) (FLI25)

Mrs Flinders
7 Mary Street
        Fitzroy Square

                              No 2 Common Hard — Portsea
                                          May 15 (at 4 P.M.) 1812

My dear Love
      I did not reach Portsmouth until eleven
o'clock yesterday. I saw Sir R. Bickerton, who fixed upon the
Loire frigate
, for making the experiments and sent for her com-
mander, captain Schomberg, to give him the necessary orders.
I then went with captain S. to the dockyard, where we saw Com-
missioner Grey, my friend Park, and Mr Payne, his assistant,
who is appointed to make the experiments. Arrangements be-
ing agreed upon with these gentlemen, I went to Mr Inman,
to talk concerning the instruments to be used.
      I dined with captain Schomberg, and slept at the
Crown Inn. This morning I breakfasted with Mr Park and
he came with me to this place to seek a lodging close to
the dockyard, and I fixed on this house, and have established
my head quarters here so long as I stay. The lodging is
very comfortable; but for two rooms I pay two guineas per
week. All this day nearly, I have been examining instru-
ments with Mr Inman; and am now returned home to write

to thee, and to dress previously to dining with Mr and
Mrs Park. They both inquired affectionately after thee, and
were pleased to hear of the accession to our family. My time
is very likely to be divided, (that is my leisure time) between Mr Parks
Mr Inmans and a few other houses, so long as I stay.
      I have seen captain Epworth and captain Heywood;
both of whom are well and appeared glad to see me. captain
Heywood is appointed to be of the officers by whom the experi-
ments are to be made; and a better could not have been
found here. Both the admiral and the commissioner appear
anxious to forward the business; and say that I have only to
name what is necessary, and it shall be done. So far all goes
on tolerably well; but owing to the dismantled state of La
Loire, and some courts-martial which are in hand, the experi-
ments cannot commence until Tuesday next, and that if the
day is fine: indeed, the preparations will not be completed
much before that time, for I shall again be occupied most of
tomorrow with Mr Inman, at whose house I am to breakfast.
      The approach of Mr Parks dinner hour forces me to
leave off conversation with thee, and go to dress. I shall

write again in two or three days, and hope to hear from thee
on the 17th . Address to me at No 2 Common Hard — Portsea
Hants. Kind love to Bell and little Nanny.
      Thine most truly
      Mattw Flinders

All pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | Back to Index
View Print Friendly Version

Related people
Chappelle (Flinders), Ann
Bickerton, Sir Richard
Jervis, John, Earl of St Vincent
Petrie, Ann
Flinders, Matthew
Heywood, Peter
Inman, (Reverend) James
Park, (Captain)
Tyler, Isabella (Belle/Bell)

La Loire

Related Documents
Other documents written by Flinders, Matthew

Other documents received by Chappelle (Flinders), Ann

Other documents written in 1812