Browse the documents Browse the documents Search
Advanced search
The Flinders papersletters and documents about the explorer Matthew Flinders (1774-1814)
You are here: Flinders > Browse the Documents > Documents > Documents
All pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | Back to Index

Letter from Matthew Flinders to Ann Chappelle (2 of 41) (FLI25) Page 2

-sibly neceƒsary to see, I should be glad to have some little account
of your movements, — where you reside and with whom; that my mo-
-tions may be regulated accordingly. As for my own movements they
will be these; — as soon as we shall be ordered up to Woolwich or to
Deptford, which we expect daily, to be paid off, I shall go up to London
occasionally to put the busineƒs I have got to do into a fair training;
and after the ship is paid off shall reside there altogether till the prin-
-cipal part is executed; and this will probably take two months and
more. But if the absence of people from London at this time, should ob-
-lige me to defer some part till they return, then I shall take that oppor-
-tunity of coming into Lincolnshire, if so long a time as three weeks
can be spared.
      You see that I make everything subservient to busineƒs. In-
-deed my dearest friend, this time seems to be a very critical period of
my life. I have been long absent, — have done services abroad that
were not expected, but which seem to be thought a good deal of. I have
more and greater friends than before, and this seems to be the moment
that their exertions may be most serviceable to me. I may now per-
-haps make a bold dash forward, or may remain a poor lieute-
-nant all my life.
      When you write, direct to me at Deptford or at the Nore;
in expectation of which, immediately on the receival of this, I con-
-clude with aƒsuring my dear friend Annette, that with the greatest
sincerity I am her most affectionate friend and brother
                                    Mattw Flinders
P.S. Inclosed with this is a letter from the Rev. Mr Johnson, in-
-trusted to my care. I left his family well and himself tolerably
so. His son is now at school in Yorkshire, and came home a little
before us.
      I ought to have began my letter by saying that six dif-

All pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | Back to Index
View Print Friendly Version

Related people
Chappelle (Flinders), Ann
Franklin, Thomas
Flinders family
Flinders, Matthew
Franklin family
Franklin, Elizabeth
Franklin, Mary

The Nore


Related Documents
Other documents written by Flinders, Matthew

Other documents received by Chappelle (Flinders), Ann

Other documents written in 1800