Browse the documents Browse the documents Search
Advanced search
The Flinders papersletters and documents about the explorer Matthew Flinders (1774-1814)
You are here: Flinders > Browse the Documents > Documents > Documents
All pages | 1 | 2 | Back to Index

Letter from Matthew Flinders to Ann Chappelle (7 of 41) (FLI25) Page 1

Mr Tyler
Partney – Lincolnshire
For Miƒs Chappelle

Stamped: LINCOLN           SHEERNESS

                                                                at the Nore
                          H.M.S. Investigator Sheerneƒs
                                                      April 6. 1801

My dearest friend
        Thou hast asked me if there is a poƒsi- -bility of our living together. I think I see a probability
of living with a moderate share of comfort. Till now, I
was not certain of being able to fit myself out clear of
the world. I have now done it; and have accommodation
on board the Investigator, in which as my wife, a woman
may, with love to aƒsist her, make herself happy.
This prospect has recalled all the tenderneƒs which I have
so sedulously endeavoured to banish. I am sent for to
London, where I shall be from the 9th to the 19th or perhaps
longer. If thou wilt meet me there, this hand shall be
thine forever. If thou hast sufficient love and courage,
say to Mr and Mrs Tyler, that I require nothing more
with thee than a sufficient stock of clothes, and a small sum
to answer the increased expenses that will neceƒsarily ^ and immediately come
upon me; as well for living on board, as providing for it at
Port Jackson; for whilst I am employed in the most dangerous
part of my duty, thou shalt be placed under some friendly
roof there. I will specify this sum to be £200, or if great
inconvenience will result from advancing it, I will say
£150; and I leave every thing future to the justice and gene-
-rosity of thy parents and friends.
    It is but a bad specimen of my stability to change in
this manner, as appearances will bespeak I do; but it is
no change. It is only just now that I see attendant comfort;
the want of which only, kept me back.
    I need not, or at this time have I time to enter into
a detail of my income and prospects; it will, I trust, be suf-

All pages | 1 | 2 | Back to Index
View Print Friendly Version

Related people
Tyler, (Reverend) William
Chappelle (Flinders), Ann
Flinders, Matthew

The Nore
Port Jackson


Related Documents
Other documents written by Flinders, Matthew

Other documents received by Chappelle (Flinders), Ann

Other documents written in 1801