Browse the documents Browse the documents Search
Advanced search
The Flinders papersletters and documents about the explorer Matthew Flinders (1774-1814)
You are here: Flinders > Browse the Documents > Documents > Documents
All pages | 1 | Back to Index

Letter from Matthew Flinders to Rev W Tyler (2 of 2) (FLI25)

    the Rev Mr Tyler
          Partney near Spilsby

Annotation: Via Vigo, in Spain

                              Isle of France May 20 1804

My dear Sir
                A conveyance by the French ship of war the
, enables me to tell you that I am in good health,
but out of expectation of being relieved from my imprison-
-ment in leƒs than six or eight months. I cannot, I think, be in
England in leƒs than twelve months under the most favourable
      Be pleased to write to my mother-in-law, and say that
I have received at Port Jackson her melancholy letter of
June 1802. I had hoped by this time to have been with her to have
{made} such arrangements as would have been most for her com-
-fort, but I am debarred from all those who are dear to me: I am
wrung with anguish. When my family are the subject of my me-
-ditation, my bonds enter deep into my soul. But this letter may
be subject to the inspection of every curious, idle Frenchman,
therefore, my dear Sir, excuse more.
      Accept you, and those in your house, my dearest regards

Rev. Mr Tyler — Partney
Mattw Flinders

un francais a recette lettre par ce qu'il le derait, mais il respecte le malheur et pardonne ses expressions

All pages | 1 | Back to Index
View Print Friendly Version

Related people
Tyler, (Reverend) William
Flinders, Elizabeth
Flinders, Matthew

Ile de France (Mauritius)
Port Jackson


Related Documents
Other documents written by Flinders, Matthew

Other documents received by Chappelle (Flinders), Ann

Other documents written in 1804