Browse the documents Browse the documents Search
Advanced search
The Flinders papersletters and documents about the explorer Matthew Flinders (1774-1814)
You are here: Flinders > Browse the Documents > Documents > Documents
All pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Back to Index

Letter from Isabella Tyler to Matthew Flinders (FLI01) Page 2

house, the smallest you perhaps ever saw, it is however
very comfortable, & , but that happineƒs is not the lot of
mortals, a certain portion of bitter, is ever mixed in our
cup of sweets, I believe I shoud be happy, but my Mothers
health is far from good, and Ann is always fidgeting &
twittering about you, and that she says much, but I often
see her eyes red, and swell'd, although I use many argu=
=ments to persuade her that she has more cause to re=
=joice, than to grieve, for my part, if I were ever sure
my husband would be taken abroad, and confined there
for nine, or ten years, I would marry tomorrow, tell
old De Caen when I have a husband I'll send him
to him, and he may have the gratification of keep=
=ing him tied by the leg, as long as pleases.
      My Mother and I were at Ramsgate last summer, we
went by water, and paƒs'd between Sheerneƒs and the
great Nore, how I thought of you, and the poor old
Investigator, do you remember my being on board there.
What fun it was to be sure. Mr & Mrs Peake are now
fix'd at Ramsgate, & are I hope doing very well, he did not
succeed in the vitriol concern, I dare say you remember
Ann, their daughter, she is become a great stout woman,

All pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Back to Index
View Print Friendly Version

Related people
Flinders, Matthew
Tyler, Isabella (Belle/Bell)
Chappelle (Flinders), Ann
Tyler, (Reverend) William
De Caen, Charles Mathieu Isadore
Hippins family

Ile de France (Mauritius)
The Nore


Related Documents
Other documents received by Flinders, Matthew

Other documents written in 1810